An applicant only has access to the application he creates. He can share the application with other users. When the application is submitted, the file is registered and dispatched to the concerned authority or authorities.
Different roles can be assigned to the authorities’ users in the OSS. Depending on the role(s) they are assigned to, these users have different access rights, e.g. the project manager prepares the assessment report while a decision-maker approves it. In any case, only the applicant is able to amend its application file.
An application submitted in the OSS is only accessible to the user that created and submitted it. That user has however the possibility of sharing the application with one or more other users by specifying the email address associated with their user account. From the list of applications, select the option “Share application” in the menu corresponding to the application to share.
When sharing an application, all the users have the same access rights to the application. They will receive notifications relevant for their application and can use the issue log etc.
Anyone who will create, participate, supervise and/or submit an application for a vehicle authorisation or a single safety certificate can create an account in the OSS. A user account shall correspond to a physical person as it is needed to identify who is performing actions in the OSS. ERA discourages the use of a generic or functional account due to the security risks introduced by such practice.
A user account can be easily created from the OSS portal.
To deactivate a user account, the organisation shall fill in the contact form on our website, selecting “One-Stop Shop” for the type of request and specifying the details of the account (last name, first name, email address, organisation and business domain) to be created or deactivated.
If you are staff member of the Agency or of a national safety authority, your account will be created or deactivated by your organisation. Please submit your request to the OSS user manager within your organisation.
OSS sends automatic notifications to users. These notifications provide relevant information (e.g. progress of the application, new issues raised by the assessors, the decision taken by the authority) on one or more applications submitted in the OSS or that are shared with the users.
The notifications relevant for an application are visible in the OSS but it is possible to receive them also by emails by changing the setting of your user profile.
Best practices for securing the information in the OSS have been followed during the development phase. Access to the OSS is based on the identification of users using an email address and a password. The password has to be renewed periodically and must comply with the password rules. The HTTPS protocol is used to ensure secure communication between your web browser and our server.
Submitting a report means pressing the button “submit” in the OSS (for a form). Once a report is submitted it becomes read-only to the user depending on its role(s).
Such action can be reverted, meaning reset to a state where it can be edited again by the user, by pressing the button “Request update” in the related form.
This action is possible by the recipient of the submitted form:
The button “Request update” is used to revert the submission of a report.
Three OSS environments are available:
Each environment requires a separate account to login. This means that applicants need to register separately in the different environments wanted and, NSA and Agency users shall request the creation of their accounts in the wanted environments.
The Agency provides trainings for the OSS. In case you are interested in such training please send an email to receive the calendar and the registration information.