

Making the railway system work better for society

DECISION n°304

of the Management Board of the European Union Agency for Railways appointing one member and two alternates in the Board of Appeal following two resignations and amending Decision n°196

THE MANAGEMENT BOARD OF THE EUROPEAN UNION AGENCY FOR RAILWAYS,

Having regard to Regulation (EU) 2016/796 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 11 May 2016 on the European Union Agency for Railways (hereinafter referred to as "the Agency") and repealing Regulation (EC) No 881/2004 (hereinafter referred to as "Regulation (EU) 2016/796"), and in particular Article 55(5) thereof,

Having regard to Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2018/867 of 13 June 2018 laying down the rules of procedure of the Board(s) of Appeal of the European Union Agency for Railways and in particular Article 1 and 2 thereof,

Having regard to the list of experts drawn up by the Commission pursuant to Article 55§3 of Regulation (EU) 2016/796,

Having regard to Decision n°286 of the Management Board of the European Union Agency for Railways establishing the criteria for nominating Board of Appeal members and appointing representatives for assessing the list of qualified candidates, and repealing MB DECISION n° 184 dated 16 February 2022;

Whereas:

- (1) The resignation of one Board of Appeal member Mr Andreas Thomash and one alternate Ms Kaisa Sainio took place end 2021 and thus there is a need to be replaced;
- (2) The selection panel appointed by the Management Board assessed the list of qualified candidates who confirmed their availability and submitted its proposal to the Management Board for decision.

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1 Appointment of member

1. The following person is appointed member of the Board of Appeal for a term of office of four years renewable once:

Mr. Patrizio Grillo

2. The term of office starts on 1 December 2022.

Article 2-Appointement alternates

- 3. The following persons are appointed alternates of the Board of Appeal for a term of office of four years renewable once:
 - 1. Ms. Daniela Randt
 - 2. Mr. Konstantinos Kapetanidis
- 4. The four-year term of office starts on 1 December 2022.

Article 3

5. Decision n° 196 Article 3 should be read as follows:

'Article 3-Appointment of members and alternates

- 1. The following persons are appointed members of the Board of Appeal for a term of office of four years renewable once:
 - 1. Ms. Joanna Marcinkowska
 - 2. Mr. Patrizio Grillo
 - 3. Mr. Marcel Verslype
- 2. The following persons are appointed alternates of the Board of Appeal for a term of office of four years renewable once:
 - 4. Mr. Gilles Dalmas
 - 5. Ms. Daniela Randt
 - 6. Mr. Konstantinos Kapetanidis
- 3. The four-year term of office of member Ms Joanna Marcinkowska, member Mr Marcel Verslype and alternate Mr Gilles Damas starts on 16 June 2019.
- 4. The term of office of Mr Patrizio Grillo as alternate lasts from 16 June 2019 until 30 November 2022. His four-year term of office as member starts on 1 December 2022.
- 5. The four-year term of office of Ms. Daniela Randt and Mr. Konstantinos Kapetanidis starts on 1 December 2022.'

Article 4- Entry into force

The present decision shall enter into force the date following that of its adoption. It shall be published on the Agency's website.

Done at Valenciennes, on 16 November 2022 For the Management Board

The Chairperson Clio LIÉGEOIS