

Making the railway system work better for society.

# DECISION n°196

of the Management Board of the European Union Agency for Railways establishing one Board of Appeal and appointing its members and Chairperson

## THE MANAGEMENT BOARD OF THE EUROPEAN UNION AGENCY FOR RAILWAYS,

Having regard to Regulation (EU) 2016/796 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 11 May 2016 on the European Union Agency for Railways (hereinafter referred to as "the Agency") and repealing Regulation (EC) No 881/2004 (hereinafter referred to as "Regulation (EU) 2016/796"), and in particular Articles 55(5) thereof,

Having regard to Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2018/867 of 13 June 2018 laying down the rules of procedure of the Board(s) of Appeal of the European Union Agency for Railways and in particular Article 1 and 2 thereof,

Having regard to the list of experts drawn up by the Commission pursuant to Article 55§3 of Regulation (EU) 2016/796,

#### Whereas:

- (1) Considering the expertise on the list of experts drawn up by the Commission as well as the provisional workload related to appeal cases and arbitration, the number of Boards to be established as permanent bodies should be one;
- (2) The number and quality of the candidates on the list of experts drawn up by the Commission ensure that the technical, procedural/legal expertise and experience is available and the persons proposed for appointment fulfil the criteria necessary to perform the tasks of the Chair and members/alternates of the Board of Appeal;
- (3) The outcome of the selection panel who was tasked with assessing the list of qualified candidates and proposing the names of one Chair, three members and three alternates.

#### HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

## **Article 1 Establishment Board of Appeal**

1. One Board of Appeal is established as permanent body.

## **Article 2- Appointment of Chairperson**

1. The following person is appointed Chairperson of the Board of Appeal for a term of office of four years renewable once:

## Mr. Marcel Verslype

2. The four-year term of office of the Chairperson starts on 16 June 2019.

#### **Article 3-Appointment of members and alternates**

- 1. The following persons are appointed members of the Board of Appeal for a term of office of four years renewable once:
  - 1. Ms. Joanna Marcinkowska
  - 2. Mr. Andreas Thomasch
  - 3. Mr. Marcel Verslype
- 2. The following persons are appointed alternates of the Board of Appeal for a term of office of four years renewable once:
  - 1. Mr. Gilles Dalmas
  - 2. Mr. Patrizio Grillo
  - 3. Ms. Kaisa Sainio
- 3. The four-year term of office of members and alternates starts on 16 June 2019.

# Article 4 - Entry into force

The present decision shall enter into force the date following that of its adoption. It shall be published on the Agency's website.

Done at Valenciennes, on 01-03-2019 For the Management Board

The Chairperson Clio LIÉGEOIS