Management Board
Banner Image
Management Board  

The Management Board is part of the administrative and management structure of the European Union Agency for Railways and set up by Article 46 of Regulation 2016/796. It is composed of one representative of each Member State and two representatives of the Commission, all with the right to vote, each one with an alternate in case of absence.

It also includes six representatives, without right to vote, at European level, for the following stakeholders: railway undertakings, infrastructure managers, railway industry, trade union organizations, passengers and freight customers. For each of those stakeholders, the Commission shall appoint a representative and an alternate from a shortlist of four names submitted by their respective European organisations.

All the Management Board members are appointed for a term of office of four years and may be renewed. They are appointed as well as their alternates in the light of their knowledge of the Agency’s core business, taking into account relevant managerial, administrative and budgetary skills.

Norway participates as a Board member without a right to vote as it is one of the Member States of the European Economic Area (EEA).

The Management Board plays a key role at the Agency. Among other tasks, it adopts the Agency’s annual budget, programming document and annual activity report; it also appoints the Executive Director, the members of the Executive Board and the members of the Board(s) of Appeal.

The Chairperson of the Management Board is Ms Clio LIEGEOIS representing Belgium and the Deputy Chairperson is Mr Hinne GROOT representing the Netherlands.

The Management Board meets at least twice a year.

The next meeting will be held on  26 June 2018 in Lille.

NB: The Management Board of the European Union Agency for Railways succeeded to the Administrative Board of the European Railway Agency. All decisions which have been adopted by the Administrative Board of the European Railway Agency will continue to be applicable, unless they are repealed by a new decision adopted by the Management Board.

Contact Management Board Secretariat via e-mail or phone : 0033 327 096588.